XX_FTW

Premium Member
 PSN Profile
  • Content count

    476
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

404 Excellent

2 Followers

About XX_FTW

  • Rank
    Premium Member

Profile Information

  • Gender

Recent Profile Visitors

1,084 profile views
  1. I’m not officially accepting new members, sorry, but feel free to play along.
  2. Wooot! Congrats, man!
  3. Haven’t given an update in a long time. Unfortunately, my gaming has been mostly on untrackable systems lately so not much progress and will honestly be so for awhile with Fire Emblem out now. Looks like you guys are doing well! Still love reading your updates and seeing you guys help each other out. [ X ] B1 - One Word Title One Word by Powgi [ – ] B2 - With Online Features [ X ] B3 - Released the Year You Joined PSNP Watch Dogs 2 [ X ] B4 - Platform Exclusive Persona 5 [ – ] B5 - Play As an Antihero or Bad Guy [ – ] I1 - Oldest In Your Backlog [ X ] I2 - Retro Rereleases Crash Bandicoot: Warped [ – ] I3 - You Think You Will Dislike [ – ] I4 - Arcade, Rhythm, or Puzzle [ – ] I5 - In a Series New To You [ – ] N1 - That Gives You the Feels [ - ] N2 - Award-Winning [ X ] N3 - Player’s Choice Project Highrise [ – ] N4 - Metroidvania or Rogue-like [ – ] N5 - Originally Released In 2019 [ X ] G1 - With a # Or Punctuation Mark In The Title PixelJunk Monsters 2 [ X ] G2 - With a Female Protagonist The Walking Dead: The Final Season [ X ] G3 - For Another PSNP Event Midnight Deluxe [ – ] G4 - Peripheral-Based [ – ] G5 - Sci-Fi or Fantasy Themes [ – ] O1 - Adventure [ X ] O2 - Recommended By a PSNP Borderlands 2 [ – ] O3 - Cult Favorite [ – ] O4 - Reboot or Spiritual Successor [ X ] O5 - That “Everyone” But You Has Played The Last of Us: Left Behind
  4. Late replying with my last book: I swapped in Brief Answers to the Big Questions by Stephen Hawking, which is the book Hawking was working on at the time of his passing, collecting answers he’d given at various times to oft asked questions into a single book. It’s kind of humbling to see how he discusses himself amongst his peers and while not diminishing his achievements, he is humble (whether truly or falsely, is up to you to decide) in whether or not he has made any true impact. It was also interesting to see his take on the politics of today, how they affect the science of tomorrow, and what humanity’s best hope for continuation at each step: climate change; overpopulation and resources; asteroids collision; space travel; new home; etc. Thanks for the challenge, @KayoAye. This happened to be a good year and a good month for varied reading for me as everything I read this month was a departure from my typical reading, so it aligned nicely with your goals.
  5. Haven’t posted but I’m current on reading. I did have to make some changes though: read Atomic Habits in Week 2 and switched in Catwoman: Soulstealer for Week 3 as it was on a timeline and I needed to return it to the owner. Atomic Habits is basically a self help book attempting to reframe how we thinking about habit formation. The Catwoman book was one of my rare treks into YA age group. It’s one of the books DC has been putting out that looks at iconic characters before they become icons. I am currently reading Brief Answers to the Big Questions by Stephen Hawking as my last book.
  6. Hey guys, I’ve seen your updates and loving the write ups. A bunch of new bingos so I’ll update the OP tomorrow when I’m on a desktop.
  7. I, unfortunately, didn’t have as much room for audiobook listening last week, even as compared to a normal week, so I was not able to complete Sleeping Giants by Silvain Neuvel. The progress tracker says I left off at 62%. I intend to finish it. Set in present day/near future, the book explores what would happen a giant mechanical body part was found buried in rural America. The giant part defies all scientific comprehension and understanding of prehistory. It seems this advanced technology may have been put here by something much farther along in their evolution than humans were at the time. An entity of some kind (it remains unclear at the point I left off) with some significant power and influence—enough to talk down to world leaders without fear of retaliation—is funding the research on this part, which leads to the discovery of additional body parts. As one can expect, there is military interest in the discovery and use of this giant or whatever it is and extracting the parts from around the globe by whatever means necessary creates both political and moral crises and personal sacrifice for the individuals involved. The story is presented in a series of interviews conducted by the representative of the previously mentioned entity funding the project, recordings made by the project team, and various documents such as medical reports, military field reports, and news outlets (I can’t recall if the news was discussed in an interview or actually was a news outlet report). The audiobook, specifically, I really have to applaud. Rather than the typical presentation of a single VO narrating, the audiobook handles it more like a radio play. Each character has a voice actor assigned and they are emoting in character. There aren’t any musical cues or sound effects though so not full radio play but it’s been a great listen.
  8. My List Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel (audiobook) Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf by Edward Albee (physical book) Atomic Habits by James Clear Aesop’s Fables by Aesop (serialized ebook) I have SG checked out from the library and own WAoVW. I have holds on AH in several formats (and have for awhile. this book is so popular!) so which ever comes through soonest will be the format I choose. I’m going to try out the Serial Reader app for AF so it will deliver a daily segment of this public domain book. Book One - Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel “A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, andThe Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.But some can never stop searching for answers.Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?” I copied that from the website description but have only read the bold part. So I don’t really know anything about it and that’s okay. I like going in blind. Heard about this book somewhere I don’t remember and the impressions were so compelling that I immediately requested the book from the library. So let’s see.
  9. Leave it to the Doctor to show us how it’s done. That’s awesome. Aw man! So close. Thanks for participating. Feel free to cash in another card if you like but no worries if not.
  10. Say it again for the people in the back.
  11. That is the intent, yes.
  12. I enjoy the thought you’re putting into this. It’s cool to see how you interpret the challenges. Regarding the account date, go with whichever account ends up working for you. I have no insight to offer on Mini Ninjas unfortunately but may I suggest the Vita as a second controller for LEGO? Idk if it will work but maybe...
  13. Yikes... I forgot why I stopped visiting these PS Plus threads... I like games like what Conan seems to be so I will play it without the glitch at some point. I don't know much about the Surge but looks decent.
  14. WHOA! Huge update. Nice work. No worries about the second card. If you want a second one, you can generate it when you're done or, as we did for DoctorDr, we can get you a card with categories you didn't have already. Didn't see anything like it after a quick glance at your profile, but I thought I'd offer a recommendation for a genre which is often overlooked: simulation/management/building games. I'd recommend Aven Colony as it is fairly quick to plat for this type of game, isn't too difficult for someone new to the genre, and it offers a story mode which most don't.