Is it worth getting Afterbirth and Afterbirth+ right away?

Greetings everyone.

So after watching youtubers play this and having dabbled in a little of Isaac on steam, I decided to get it on PS4 because why the heck not really? (that and I've double dipped on SO many games in the past before because f it!). Got a few trophies already and began to wonder, is it worth getting the DLC right away? I'm pondering that because while I was thinking to myself, "Just get all of the original done first" even though that will no doubt take me like a year knowing my track record with getting games done, I also then thought about what if the items in the DLC actually helped me with the trophies for the base game....

So... they worth it right away or just wait.

Thanks!

I am in a similar boat.  I just started playing this game after watching others play the new expansion (I forget what it is called).

Personally, I do not have the DLC, and have just been playing on "Rebirth", but I would be interested to hear others' opinions.

• Like 1

I'd strongly recommend holding off on the DLCs, at least at first. Each one makes the game as a whole much more difficult, as well as adding additional requirements for the platinum. Some unlocks are made easier, but unlocking one of the items requires you to complete everything with a challenging character, and that "everything" expands with each DLC. The character in question does get significantly buffed in Afterbirth, so there's a case to be made to pick that one up if you find yourself struggling, but in general I recommend holding off until you unlock the item

Spoiler

Godhead

• Like 2

i did it all with the dlc from the start, honestly may as well start with it so u can get the items needed for the dlc too. theres a number of op items you can use to retote items needed if u still need stuff when dopne with everything else, the item mentioned above i managed to get a number of times legit compared to one of the dlc ones.