So after finally finishing the (single-player) game years later...

TimeLordCrow13y

I mostly didn’t enjoy this. And that’s coming from someone who is a big fan of classic Tomb Raider. Turning a puzzle platforming/exploration  series with light combat into a full blown cover shooter with little focus on any of the original elements was...certainly an idea. While the combat was frustratingly difficult (I’m not sure if I’d EVER played a cover shooter before this one, unless RE4 counts-so I know I’m a “noob” at this genre) the “optional tombs” were mind-numbingly easy. And don’t even get me started on what they did to Lara’s character. 

I had really wanted to complete all the Tomb Raider trophies (minus the duplicates, largely because I have no desire to experience this game again-and I haven’t even started the bloody multiplayer yet) but am now unsure about if I want to continue this trilogy or not. I know the second and especially third game have more elaborate tombs, but I’m worried the core gameplay loop (kill wave after wave of enemies, for 15 minutes, do some easy platforming for 5 minutes, take another 5 minutes or less completing an optional tomb) will be the same. 

Can anyone who’s a fan of the original games (or the first reboot trilogy) chime in on whether they enjoyed the other games in this series? Particularly if they didn’t like TR 2013 all that much? 

Edited by TimeLordCrow13y
  • Like 3

I fully agree with you on this.

I just played it by myself.

I even skipped most cutscenes. I already knew it was bad, they simply turned Tomb Raider into a chest high cover 3rd person shooter. And Laura is a whining little brat.

"Oh no, I killed a human being, I feel so bad" 5 seconds later "ok, let's go on a mass murder rampage, because who cares lmao". They could have ended it with the Last of Us 2 message "revenge bad, but it's great when you kill thousand people in between yolo"