Giving up on Resident Evil 8’s platinum?

So, I got Resident Evil 8 on May the 10th, and I love it, I played the story once keeping it calm throughout the week and then, I played it again for the speedrun and the valley of shadows difficulty run. I was happy with my progress, only missing this mercenaries thing, how hard could it be?

Well, yesterday I played about an hour of the first stage and couldn’t get more than a B, today, I played about another hour and got my first S. I started playing the second stage and couldn’t maintain my combo and quitted the game. 

it’s not going to get any easier, is it? 

Any of you liking the game?

• Like 3

Love the game, it's probably one of my all time favourite entries even though I thought the way Ethan was written was pretty bad, everything else was great for me though. It would also have been a perfect platinum too if they hadn't tacked on the Mercenary stuff.

Honestly though, Mercenaries is doable with the right strategy and time devoted to practicing it. I've almost got Factory 2 mastered and then it's just Mad Village 2. I was convinced I wouldn't get past Castle 2 but it happened. It was a crap choice to include Mercenary S-Rank requirements as part of the platinum, but if I can do it, i'm pretty sure anyone can.

• Like 3

Great game. Plan on going through village of shadows in the near future, but I doubt I'll bother trying to get the platinum. Mercenaries has never been my thing, and from what a bunch of friends have said, getting that S rank on Mercs is incredibly tedious due to needing to know the spawn points of enemies and never dropping your combo once. 

Getting the platinum for RE7 was surprisingly fun and a lot easier than I expected. I didn't even really try to speed run the game but once I finished Marguerite at around the 2 hour mark, I thought "maybe I can step it up from here" and managed to do it with finding all the antique coins as well.