What TV to buy?

DaveMcDamage

Hi all,

My TV is on the blink and so thought I would finally treat myself to one of those 4K TV's you damn humans are always yacking on about. Trouble is I know nothing about them, but did here that the new gen consoles require something called HMDI 2.0 or something like that, can't remember what it is they said as I'm not tech savvy in the slightest. I'm in the UK so models may differ from you global 4K TV owners, but what are some of the specs I should be looking for when shopping for a 4K TV?

I don't use the TV for actual TV shows, just the PS4 and the bluray/dvd player.

A few years ago, I got a Samsung 65" 4K UHD 7 Series and I'm really pleased with it (even though I don't use the smart features). Check their newer versions and grab up one in your price range.

• Like 1

Depends on your budget.

This site might help you and they show the model number for the EU as well: https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/best/by-usage/video-gaming

The new gen consoles support HDMI 2.1 so you'll experience some games in 120FPS. The latest one that is receiving praise is the LG C1, and the one that released last year (the LG CX) is cheaper with some differences and cheaper. Both those TV's have four HDMI 2.1 ports so that's convenient and their input lag is great.

I recommend having a look on the site, and checking out reviews on YouTube. Some channels are very helpful like Digital Trends and HDTV Test

Edited by Ghost
  • Like 1

I would stick with Sony, Samsung, or LG. These three look pretty good and stick to your price range.

Samsung 49 In UE49RU7300KXXU (£397.00) - https://www.argos.co.uk/product/9203592?clickPR=plp:1:293

LG 55 Inch 55UN73006LA (£469.00) - https://www.argos.co.uk/product/8518350?clickPR=plp:6:293

Samsung 55In UE55TU7020KXXU (£629.00) - https://www.argos.co.uk/product/7912074?clickPR=plp:9:293

Edited by Ghost
  • Like 1

35 minutes ago, Z1MZUM said:

Sony X9000H - It has HDMI 2.1