Was PS5 kind of a disappointment to anyone else?

arcanehornet_

3 minutes ago, arcanehornet_ said:

Am I alone in this? I was super excited to get the console, but after playing Astro’s Playroom the “wow” factor faded fast.
I’m just playing PS4 games, like I had been doing for the past several years. There are a few exclusives that I’m interested in, but they’re ludicrously expensive a lot of the time. Couple this with a bland UI, removal of themes and recent activities and we have a sort of underwhelming console.

Don’t get me wrong, I know the console is relatively new and we have to wait for the big titles. But for now, it feels like nearly everything releasing is on PS4 as well. 

Not for me. My expectations have been pretty aligned to what we've received so far. Themes weren't a thing for the first year of PS4's release either, so the PS5 isn't doing any worse than PS4 was in it's first year.

I didn't expect such a bad UI/UX, but like any console, I barely spend any time there so as long as I can launch and get to games quickly, I'm not too bothered.

I suspect in another year, a lot more improvements will come, just like all the PS consoles since the PS3 and it'll be closer to the console people built up in the heads and more developers will have code that takes advantage of more PS5 features, but I suspect they'll find ways to keep selling to user bases for quite some time.

• Like 4

7 minutes ago, arcanehornet_ said:

Don’t get me wrong, I know the console is relatively new and we have to wait for the big titles. But for now, it feels like nearly everything releasing is on PS4 as well. 

Sounds like the beginning of the PS4 era when everything was also released on PS3.  Makes sense since the install base is so much larger on last generation.  These studios need to recoup their massive costs.