I assume this is clickbait/hyperbole, but could anyone elaborate what this means exactly? Is the PS3 "really" in danger of losing online connectivity?

Raidou Kuzunoha XIV

This "article":

https://7news.com.au/technology/millions-of-smart-devices-to-stop-working-from-thursday-c-4080842

Everything I'm finding on this (which isn't a lot for something you'd think would be a big deal) links back to someone called Scott Helme, with the source presumably being this blog(?) post, which doesn't even mention the PS3, just PS4s with firmware 5.00 or older possibly being affected by certificates expiring.

Can anyone who's more knowledgeable about this subject than my layman self elaborate on what this actually means?

I'm far from an expert on the subject... but certificates would apply to the server side, not the client side, right?  Like I need to renew the cert for HTTPS access to my server, but I don't need to renew a cert on my laptop to access it.

So there's a case to be made that if Sony didn't renew the certs allowing for secure connections to PSN, that PSN may go down.  But obviously they'll renew it.

EDIT: Old devices connecting to old, unmaintained servers would probably be the only things really at risk.

Edited by Dreakon13
  • Like 2

Perhaps it's just something that relates to unpatched systems from long ago. Who knows, seems like a clickbait article to me.

If this is true, likely jail broken devices will be affected the most.

I guess like what happened in 1999 with the so called Millenium Bug, just have to wait and see what happens, it's likely just nothing.

• Like 1

Maybe I am being too optimistic here, but I interpret this to mean that devices will need to be updated in order to continue to connect to the internet. The certificate would have been patched for active devices well before now via firmware upgrades.