Guide: How to get better at Racing Games

Dosaidon_17

Hello everyone,

I am Dosaidon, a Math and IT teacher from Germany, and recently I got asked very frequently how to get better at a particular Racing Game. There are two reason why I am posting this here:

1. Often times I will give you the same answer and I feel like it is getting redundant
  2. You see my PSNProfile at the fastest achiever list on this website

So because I’m a teacher in real life, I not only trying to give you some advise, I will also give you some explanation and additional info regarding certain topics. I will also highlight some text in blue color, so that you and my students always know: That is the important info and you can take your own notes for that if you wish.

The sections now I want to cover sorted from very important to minor things that also might help you are:

1. The reason why you are slow young Padawan: Assists
  2. Choose the color of your lightsaber: The ideal racing line
  3. May the G-Force be with you: Braking Uphill/Downhill
  4. The dark site of the force track: Racing in wet conditions
  5. Do not let your vision get deceived Jedi: Controller vs Steering Wheel
  6. Sithlord “Time Trial Mode” and his apprentice “Darth Online Setups”

“Now it’s lights out and away we go!”

1. The reason why you are slow young Padawan: Assists

Before you start any Racing Game: Turn off Braking Assist. Braking Assist is the worst invention mankind has ever programmed as it effectively hinders you playing the game. It slows you down too much, you brake way too early and even if you hit the throttle, the Braking Assist does not let you accelerate.

Then, even if you knew that and you are still to slow and you are seconds away from achieving Gold Time, here are the real reason why assists slow you down:

1a. TC (Traction Control) + ABS (Antilock Braking System)

1b. Manual Gear Shifting/Transmission

1a.