PS3 trophy hunting feels much more satisfying

GUDGER666

Yes, modern games aren't remotely as challenging as the PS3 era was as far as getting platinums. Developers figured out awhile ago that they'll sell more games if they simplified the trophy lists and that's where we're at now. Most AAA games these days aren't challenging at all and some don't even require you to play the game to 100% completion like Horizon 2. It's made modern trophy hunting much less prestigious and more trivialized which is why I've also been going back to the PS3 gen more and more lately. 

Also the fact the games themselves were better back then but that's just my opinion. 

I've been playing mostly PS3 games for the last two years in an attempt to finally finish off the backlog and I have to say that I agree. I avoid the "easy cheesy" games that have released in droves since the PS4 came out but even aside from those finishing a PS3 game with a good trophy list just feels more rewarding somehow. It's not really a matter of difficulty, I just think lists for even AAA games on PS4 are more standardized. And the trophy notification on the PS3 is definitely still my favorite even if that is just nostalgia talking. 

• Like 1

I share the same sentiments. The PS3 has always been my favorite console when it comes to trophies and it will (probably) forever stay that way. If I was chasing the leaderboards, I would have no choice but to spam easy PS4 games for trophies (nothing wrong with that either if it's something you enjoy... just not for me). Thankfully, I don't care about my leaderboard ranking so I can enjoy more fantastic PS3 games and take my time with them. 

• Like 3

58 minutes ago, Fr_0zt said:

It's the DING! I miss that sound 1f622.png

^This x 10000. In a few months I will be moving to my own place, and I'll have a gaming room with enough space to have both my ps3 and my ps4... and I'm very excited to start finishing my older ps3 games, my backlog hurts each time I see it...