I need ideas for dystopian games, books and movies

Clavietka

There's an upcoming science/cultural fair in my school in Brazil. The main theme is "The challenges of pursuing a sustainable future". I am a teacher and each teacher can choose his own subtheme and have 4 groups of up to 10 students under his guidance.

I've imagined my subtheme to be along these lines "Dystopian futures in fiction and what they can teach us about the risks of destroying the environment".

I plan to have one group work with literature, another with movies and another with electronic games. I'm still unsure on what the other group can do (there are some 3 months of planning ahead).

What electronic games, movies and books can you guys think of that could benefit this work? And what other medium/approach could this 4th group take?

Thanks in advance.

BTW, I always bring gaming culture to my Literature and Portuguese classes. Nerds FTW.

• Like 4

Well, maybe not the first thing you would normally think of when talking Dystopian (because The Handmaid's Tale by Atwood has been popping up in my mind for a while now....I wonder why....) but I think would be amazing to discuss from the environmental perspective is the Southern Reach Trilogy (Annihilation, Authority, and Acceptance) by Jeff VanderMeer. It is absolutely Sci/Fi, and if you have seen the movie version of Annihilation, that can give you a slight idea of how the first book runs, in a very vague way that a movie adaption can. They are the kind of books that certainly contain depth beyond what is on the page. At least I thought so. I could be way off base, though, so give it a quick glance. It is a series my mind keeps going back to. 

• Like 1

A Brave New World - Aldous Huxley

There is many more but that's the first one that popped into my head.

It's a fantastic 1930s dystopian novel which was made, fairly recently, into a TV show.

Edited by Sgznf
  • Like 2