New to Souls-Like Games: Which One First?

kkulifay

I’ve never played a From Software game before, or any souls-like game. I took a leap of faith and bought the following:

-Bloodborne

-Dark Souls III

-Demons Souls Remake (PS5)

-Elden Ring

-Sekiro

-The Nioh Collection (PS5)

I have zero experience with these types of games. I know they are going to be difficult; but I’m ready to step up my game eventually and graduate to this next level.

Which one do I start to get my feet wet and why? Feel free to rank the order if you wish. Any input is appreciated from the community here. Thank you!

BTW reading about world tendencies in Demons Souls is slightly intimidating because it’s confusing and obscure to me. 

• Like 1

I've only played Demon's Souls (both the PS3 and PS5 version), and would myself like to play more of the games in "the series", so I'd like suggestions as well (I'm thinking Bloodborne next, but supposedly it's the hardest?). I'm pretty sure Demon's Souls is regarded as the easiest of them all, so I'd probably recommend you to start with that. I found it to be an excellent introduction to these type of games, and it has made me hungry for more. It was very challenging at times, but never unfair.

• Like 2

I'd say Demon's Souls is the obvious starting point - it's both the earliest of the Souls lineage, and modern enough to feel accessible given the excellent remake status.

While the Dark Souls games aren't direct narrative sequels, I would still recommend doing Dark Souls Remastered, then Dark Souls II: Scholar of the First Sin before doing Dark Souls III - there aren't narrative hooks, but there is a lot of content that is clever nods and call backs that would be lost on you if you did Dark Souls III first.