Getting into guitar...

Dreakon139

I don't have many hobbies outside of video games, hockey, roller blading (those two kind of go together) and to a lesser extent coding/programming (it's a little tough to call what I do for a living a hobby). I don't intend to make music or anything, I just want to learn how to play guitar and have a little fun with it. Call it an itch that wants to be scratched... so I don't want anything fancy.

I'm just wondering if there's a good starting point for that sort of thing. I'm thinking a nice acoustic guitar since I would imagine it's cheaper and requires less maintenance than a electric guitar (what with them probably being a bit more expensive to begin with, plus the amps and anything else, acoustic doesn't need electricity/an outlet and it's probably not quite as loud). Though with an electric guitar I could technically get that Rocksmith game and that would help me learn. ;)

Anyways, anyone here into guitars and the sort and want to give a "n00b" some guidance on where to start? Good quality "beginner" brands to look out for, that kinda stuff.

I don't have many hobbies outside of video games, hockey, roller blading (those two kind of go together) and to a lesser extent coding/programming (it's a little tough to call what I do for a living a hobby). I don't intend to make music or anything, I just want to learn how to play guitar. Call it an itch that wants to be scratched... so I don't want anything fancy.

I'm just wondering if there's a good starting point for that sort of thing. I'm thinking a nice acoustic guitar since I would imagine it's cheaper and requires less maintenance than a electric guitar (what with them probably being a bit more expensive to begin with, plus the amps and anything else, acoustic doesn't need electricity/an outlet and it's probably not quite as loud). Though with an electric guitar I could technically get that Rocksmith game and that would help me learn. ;)