How scary is this game?

StormRacer872

So I recently started playing A:I, and as someone who very rarely plays horror games (as I'm not typically a fan of them), I have to say that my experience with the game thus far has been nothing short of terrifying, and I haven't even ran into the Alien yet! xD However, it is still quite fun, and you really can't beat the whole old-timey feel of the loading screens and intro credits. 

Now, with that being said, I have no idea what the rest of the game will be like compared to these fairly early parts. So I want you wonderful people to share your opinions: how scary is the game to you personally?

Also, to anyone who has completed the game, how many scripted jump scares are there, and in which chapters? By this, I'm not talking about when the Alien catches you, nor am I referring to a scripted event that takes place a good 10 feet away from you. I mean all up-in-your-buisness-this-shit's-right-in-front-of-you scripted jump scares :P

• Like 2

4 missions left for me till i complete my first playthrough. Personally haven't found any part of the game scary, tense and sometimes creepy seem more appropriate to describe it. I guess games like Silent hill 2 and Fatal Frame have desensitized me of recent horror games.

As far as jump scares they missed a lot of opportunities with the vents, was hoping for something similar out of the original alien film with Parker in the vents.

Edited by qxc

Having recently completed the game on Hard difficulty (the best experience), I found it absolutely terrifying. I can't really recall how many jump scares there were, but jump scare or not; still very frightening.

When I first encountered and had to deal with the presence of a Xenomorph, casually strolling about the place like as if it was no one's business, I was helpless. I kept dying. I'd hide in lockers, but it would always stick around. As soon as I left the locker, it seemed to come back and investigate.