What's your favorite franchise per generation?

Pirelli913

What's your favorite franchise for each generation? I started playing games in the third generation, but didn't own a console until the fourth generation.

Fourth gen: Sonic the Hedgehog

Fifth gen: Tomb Raider

Sixth gen: Splinter Cell

Seventh gen: Mass Effect

Eighth gen (so far): The Witcher 3

For those curious, a generation lasts as long as consoles/games are made for it. Here's a rundown:

First gen (1975-1977)

Second gen (1976-1992)

Third gen (1983-1995): 8-bit

Fourth gen (1987-1999): 16-bit

Fifth gen (1993-2006): 32- and 64-bit

Sixth gen (1998-2013)

Seventh gen (2005-present)

Eighth gen (2012-present)

• Like 1

Hmm, for Sixth Generation I'd have to say Fatal Frame or Obscure. Probably Obscure despite only having two games

Seventh Generation is a mash between the Fallout reboot franchise or Uncharted

Eight generation, is difficult because there really aren't a lot of games that have had multiple entries, but I would go with the Final Fantasy franchise. Tonnes of remakes and re-releases but Type-0 was decent, XIV is better than WoW and XV looks like it could be fantastic. Also all the re-releases are perfection

Well, here is my list of the favorite games through the generations

• Second Generation: - Atari 2600: Space Invaders
  • Fourth Generation: - SEGA: Genesis: Sonic the Hedgehog 2
  • Sixth Generation: - Playstation 2: Star Wars Battlefront 2
  • Seventh Generation: - Playstation 3: Hyperdimension Neptunia
  • Eight Genearation: - Playstation 4: Disgaea 5 (for now)
  • Like 1

First gen (1975-1977) Nothing

Second gen (1976-1992) The Legend of Zelda

Third gen (1983-1995): 8-bit Final Fantasy

Fourth gen (1987-1999): 16-bit Mario

Fifth gen (1993-2006): 32- and 64-bit while not a franchise i have to put skies of arcadia followed by final fantasy since this is before the decline

Sixth gen (1998-2013) Super smash bro's