How important would PS5 BC be to you?

Zenpai

So a lot of rumors have started floating around regarding the PS5. Two points have come up the most - the release date and the possibility of backwards compatibility.

Regarding the release date, there really isn't much to talk about (though I'd much rather see it later than sooner, I only started playing my PS4 last year), but backwards compatibility is another thing entirely.

Personally, I don't even think we need a PS5. Graphics already look more than gorgeous on the PS4, especially on the Pro, and we have tons of bells and whistles already packed into the current generation consoles. I guess we could make the push for native 4K in every game and a UHD Blu-Ray player, but I personally don't really care about any of those. I'm more than fine with good ol' 1080p.

But since it's kind of a done deal that there will be a PS5 now... might as well get used to the idea.

So since we are having it sooner or later no matter what, let's talk about backwards compatibility. Because that... that indeed's a major deal to me.

I don't really like packing my consoles away. I'm the kind of guy that wants all of his games playable at any time. Hence why I now have six different consoles all plugged into my TV screen. If the Playstation 5 came with backwards compatibility, I would completely jump for joy. Not only would I be able to play both PS4 and PS5 games on the same machine, my PS4 games would automatically be granted all the advantages of the PS4 Pro.

This generation, the justification we got as to why the PS4 wouldn't be boasting backwards compatibility was because of the PS3's unique architecture. This time around, though, they really have no excuse. If the PS5 and PS4 both have PC-like architectures, then there's really no reason why the PS5 couldn't be backwards compatible.