Ps3 getting slower internet connection than Ps4

HailHale81

If this is in the wrong thread area please feel free to move it.

Hi I was wondering if there is any network gurus out there that could tell me why my internet speed is extremely different from my ps3 to ps4.

My ps4 gets around 130mp download, wifi is 35, and ps3 is 20. I wire both the ps3 and ps4 and I use the same cable, meaning I just unplug the cable and switch to whatever system I want to play online for.

I never noticed my speeds being bad on the ps3 till today when I started playing Modern Warfare 2 Spec Ops and I would keep moving back and forth and it was becoming impossible due to the lag. I'm not sure if it's the game that is bad online wise but that still wouldn't explain why my ps3 and ps4 using the same cable gets a 100mb difference in download.

I never mess with the settings of the network so it's always the automatic options for the wired. Anyone have any ideas?

Edited by HailHale81
  • Like 2

Network card in the PS3 is older, can't do as high a speed (and is likely throttled to an extent like the PS4 is). I have the same thing, Fibre rated at 300/40, PS4 test maxes at about 100 down, PS3 maxes at about 20. There's nothing you can do about it as that's basically just the speed it goes because that's what the system/PSN allows. 

Lag in the game could be multiple things. Internet acting up at the time, got put in a foreign lobby, etc. 

• Like 1