Have you ever experienced trophy hunting burnout?

DieHardDavidN

I have always enjoyed gaming since 1991 when I got my Sega Master System for my 7th birthday. Since then I have owned pretty much every gaming console/handheld that has been released. When achievements arrived on Xbox 360 I soon became an achievement hunter and loved trying to get 100% on the games I played and unsurprisingly, trophies were my next calling.

For some reason, for the last month or so, I seem to have lost my enthusiasm for trophy hunting. I have several games on the backlog to work on (Alien Isolation, Metal Gear Solid 5, GTA 5 online, Evil Within, Crash Bandicoot trilogy, Batman Arkham Knight) etc but every time I start up a game I start to quickly lose interest and enthusiasm. 

Has this happened to anyone on here? How long did your burnout last and how did you get your enthusiasm back?

I may play a retro game later on my SNES or Megadrive to see if it's 'gaming burnout' or 'trophy burnout'

Edited by DieHardDavidN

Well it depends how you game. I would say if you are really strict with your gaming Habits that you only touch a new game if you have every trophy in the game you are playing right now then I can understand why you can get stressed. For me it helps to just Play the games I like and if I want to go for the platinum I go for it. If it´s just to tedious I will put it aside and Play another game I have interest in. Maybe I will come back later to the backlog game but if not .. well then not :D 

I get my enthusiasm back if I see a lot of other Player get the platinum. Competition is always a good way to want to do it too.

• Like 1

You bet your ass I have.

I've been saying this a lot lately in the forums so I won't go at it here again, but I'm happy the way it is now. I am not cut out to be a trophy hunter, that's about it. I'll get a plat here and there but I don't actually care about the plat, it's all about the game and my fun with it.

J

• Like 4