Most Accessible JRPG Franchises and Tips for a Genre Beginner?

PhantomFear94

So hey. I play and enjoy a lot of genres. After gaming for 13 years, I am a bit of an encyclopedia when it comes to most genres and franchises. When games came out, who by, difficulty etc., just the way my brain works. 

However, as I grew up I was (and still am) predominately Xbox, so the whole JRPG thing passed me by. Since getting a PS4 in 2017, the abundance of PS JRPG's has made me intrigued. They seem to be challenging, with an assumption on my behalf that going in that one should approach them in a certain way. I have little knowledge of the key franchises and their reputations! 

With this understanding, and to someone with virtually no JRPG experience, are there any franchises you veterans recommend? Maybe ones more accessible and less demanding of considerable JRPG knowledge?

Please, please understand that I know for JRPG fans this thread is likely going to make you want to eat your own face with my lack of knowledge, but any assistance would be recommended ?

Info that may help:

1) My experience is super limited. NieR: Automata is one of my favourite games, but my friend said that I shouldn't consider it to be a TRUE JRPG, and more a game with JRPG elements. I don't know whether Final Fantasy and Kingdom Hearts are considered a part of the JRPG family, but I actively enjoyed both.

2) I appreciate JRPG is a bit of an umbrella term, so apologies for generalizations. I don't know the proportion of real-time / turn-based. I typically prefer real time but am pretty open.

3) Game on my radar (PS4): Ni No Kuni II, Lost Sphear, Shining Resonance: Refrain. 

4) Games on my radar (PS3): Drakengard/Dragoon series (primarily due to my love of NieR: Automata), Ni No Kuni: Wrath of the White Witch 

5) Reasonable platinums would be preferable (i.e. sub 80 hours and not too difficult), but not mandatory if the game is THAT good. 

Edited by phantomfear9494