PS4 Pro hard drive

RafaelBCastro

Yes the PS4/Pro both accept any 2.5" SATA drive. You can even use an SSD if you want to shell out the money for it. I only have an OG PS4...but I put a 2TB drive in it back in 2015 and never looked back. 

It also can't be more than 9.5mm in thickness. The 3+ terabyte ones out there are 13mm in thickness 

The Seagate Firecuda 2TB SSHD is popular, and I've been using one for a few years now with no problems at all

• Like 4

I'd recommend a Solid State Disk. It very easy and fast to set up.

They are a bit more expensive but:

- they are quieter as they have no moving parts (PS4 pro fan will drown out any noise anyway so this point is moot).

- more reliable and durable than a spinning hard disk and should last longer.

- booting up and loading time are much faster. About 10-20% faster in my experience. This might only be a couple of second per loading screen, but if you game a lot, like I do, those seconds add up to a lot of time saved. 

• Like 1

25 minutes ago, gavsta72 said:

It also can't be more than 9.5mm in thickness. The 3+ terabyte ones out there are 13mm in thickness 

The Seagate Firecuda 2TB SSHD is popular, and I've been using one for a few years now with no problems at all

This. Not every 2.5" will fit in your PS4 HD slot.

SSD's are just not worth it for the PS4 or Pro due to the hardware limitations. They simply cannot read an SSD fast enough anyway.

Saving a few seconds off load times really isn't worth all the extra $$$$

SSHD's are the best, performance and capacity wise

• Like 2

37 minutes ago, gavsta72 said:

SSD's are just not worth it for the PS4 or Pro due to the hardware limitations. They simply cannot read an SSD fast enough anyway.

Saving a few seconds off load times really isn't worth all the extra $$$$

SSHD's are the best, performance and capacity wise