Munchkin game!? (DO NOT BUY)

Helyx

Don't buy this game. Half the trophies are glitched and the developer (Asmodee Digital) have shown no interest in fixing any of the issues. I've been reporting bugs for six months and I can honestly say this is the worst purchase I've made of any kind in a decade. Don't support Asmodee Digital, and if you have a spine, you wont support their table-top parent company Asmodee.

https://psnprofiles.com/trophies/10006-munchkin-quacked-quest

It seems even Munchkin (card game) is making it's way to PS4. I've loved playing the physical card game for many many years and I'm really excited to see a video game.

This is set to release today (November 19th), and as far as I can tell, it's local co-op only. 

Edited by Helyx
  • Like 3

21 minutes ago, starcrunch061 said:

I've never heard of Munchkin. Is it a game like Magic?

It's basically a parody of Dungeons & Dragons, although there are several different versions released these days with different themes. It's a cardbased dungeon crawl with silly monsters and equipment. Some examples:

300px-Net_troll.jpgMunchkin_Whine.jpgs-l300.jpg

This could be a fun game, especially since there's co-op. 

Edited by SinisterPledge
  • Like 2

30 minutes ago, starcrunch061 said:

I've never heard of Munchkin. Is it a game like Magic?

Similar in that it's a card game, but other than that it's completely different. All the cards required to play come in a single box (but there's dozens of standalone expansions that can be combined with any other sets). There's no resource management (lands/mana) and the rules are very basic and forgiving even to the point where you're given the option to make your own house rules if it floats your boat.

As for this video game, I'm not sure if any of the actual gameplay will translate over, but I love twin-stick isometric games and looters, so Munchkin is definitely on my radar. Can't believe I didn't see any announcements for it this year.

• Like 1