Can I do this solo?

whittle181

I'm new to this gaming series, and wanted to know if I can get the platinum by doing everything in the game on my own without the help of teaming with online players? Please note this excludes the 5 online only trophies which involve using the flare / completing 100 multiplayer quests / collecting guild cards.

If you're insanely good at this type of game and don't mind an even bigger grind than the 800+ hours in the guide, I'd say you MIGHT have a chance, but you will need some help with a couple of multiplayer only trophies...

That said: the game is a LOT better with friends. 

Edited by Milkyray
Spelling
  • Like 1

Certainly possible in terms of difficulty, but you'll probably want to team up for the sake of efficiency/time. You don't have to find a dedicated team or partner though as players can queue into single hunts easily in MHW.

Some multiplayer factors regarding difficulty:

• Monster HP scales with more players. 150% for 2 players, 220-260% for 3+ players. That said, you will find most hunts quicker with companions.
  • When alone you are joined by your Palico (AI companion) and can have an additional "tailrider" join you. 2 players each have their Palico, but no tailriders. 3+ players will have no AI companions. So even when alone, you won't be entirely singled out by a monster.
  • KO's (typically 3 allowed per hunt) are shared for your team, so more players also introduces more risk of failure in a sense.

That said, you may find it quicker to join active hunts that you see for quests or monsters you need or want-- especially with the volume/RNG grind for crown trophies. Likewise, you could reliably (at least when I played in the past year) count on people to join your SOS, which can be fired immediately on hunts where you want a team.