What happened in the past 9 months?

Wavergray

I started playing DoS when it was released last year, but I stopped playing because of reasons. On a whim I decided to check in on it today and when I checked my mail I see almost 300 gold orbs from Admins apologies. What happened? Did the severs get worse or something?

Edited by soultaker655

I was waiting to start the game until I finished a few others, but didn't want to wait too long and end up like Ecolibrium, *hoping* they would have another online tournament to finish up my trophies. Has all the maintenance subsided? I think I'd like to start this now, but from what I understand, trading can make the game easier and one trade is required for a trophy. Are there still many people playing?

Aren't they awarded for maintenance? 

Yeah, when there's unscheduled maintenances that lasts more then a day they seem to give out 35 gold orbs.

https://twitter.com/dos_official_en/status/553053473793523712

Server connection failures happened, that may be it.

From what I've been able to find out the servers got worse, blew up, then finally got a little better. 

I just completely stopped playing, because of all the non scheduled maintenance. It was happening too often.

That the same reason I stopped playing. That mess with the 30 day trophy killed the game for me last year.

I was waiting to start the game until I finished a few others, but didn't want to wait too long and end up like Ecolibrium, *hoping* they would have another online tournament to finish up my trophies. Has all the maintenance subsided? I think I'd like to start this now, but from what I understand, trading can make the game easier and one trade is required for a trophy. Are there still many people playing?

Yes a lot of people still play this game, especially since the new update made the gameplay more enjoyable. As for trading, it can make it easier to get R and SR spirits, but you have to be careful with 2 for 1 and 3 for 1 trades.