My Vita keeps pressing down (even when I'm pressing up)

RachelCharlotte

Hey,

a while ago I got a Vita (again) and for some days everything was fine. After that I noticed ghostly movements in Fifa's menus, but that was only annoying. When I started playing Rayman Legends however, this made the game quite impossible: With the system thinking that I'm constantly pressing down on my directional buttons I simply have no chance of finishing the game. I thought I had found the culprit when I deleted Fifa and took out the cartridge, but about two weeks later and without any warning (I was in the middle of a level) it happened again. Switching the console off did not help, I initialised the Vita too (thank you very much for that great introduction video - again -,-) without any success. I tried turning off and on the Wifi and I could play for an hour or so before the console returned to its stupid condition.

It's as if someone was using a second controller with the same frequency and they keep pushing down at least 80% of the time. There are pauses (including the hopeful moment after booting up the system), but most of the time I'm not in control of a considerable amount of what's going on.

I can say with certainty that the misinterpreting part comes from the buttons instead of the left stick, otherwise th players in FIFA would have behaved differently. Can someone tell me what about the temporary fixes I need to change in order to get it to work?

I forgot to mention that it's the first model, more specifically the 3G version (with no Sim card inserted).

Edited by Karlsson89

Got this issue 8 months after purchase of my Vita slim (left stick drifting to the right). Very annoying and made some games semi-unplayable. Got it temporarily fixed by rotating the sticks for a while with console turned off, but eventually the issue returned.

If you have warranty left, return the console.