Very long levels

Maahniac

I started playing Turok 2 again a few days ago, and I absolutely love it. I had the game as a kid, but I don't think I ever progressed past the first level, due to the numerous issues I had with the game on PC.

HOWEVER... the levels in this game... they are SO long! ? I think the opening level took me over 2 hours to complete - and that's the first level in the game. Besides the Death Marshes level, all the levels I've played so far have been MASSIVE, and go on, and on, and on. They have some incredibly confusing level design too, where it's easy to miss something - even if you are thorough in your exploration like I am - which will force you to backtrack A LOT if you try to Plat the game. The Lair of the Blind Ones-level is particularly brutal in its marathon-like length. I'm doing this on Hardcore difficulty, which doesn't exactly make anything easier, so I think I spent 5 or 6 hours trying to make sense of that level yesterday ? I somehow missed a Cave Key, and had to go through almost the entire level again (with respawned enemies) to locate it.

Not complaining, I actually love it, just wondering if other people are having similar experiences? :D

• Like 1

That's why I played my first playthrough on Normal  mode, to remember all the shit that was going down from back when I played on PC. Lair of the Blind Ones is by far the most confusing in the game. But the Hive of the Mantids and especially Primagen's Lightship are also insanely long xD It is the textbook Turok 2 experience.

Not to mention, nobody tells you, but the proper way of playing the levels "in order" is 1-3-2-5-4-6. You need the swimming ability from Death Marshes in order to traverse the River of Souls, and the Breath of Life ability from the Hive in order to get that stupid Primagen Key in Lair of the Blind ones. 

Game is awesome but way too confusing. Still loving it. Except Lair of the Blind ones, got sick of all the spiders and hidden paths.