In honor of Akira Toriyama

I'm doing the same thing! Like many people, I grew up with Dragon Ball (Z, specifically). A few years ago I played Chrono Trigger for the first time, and loved it, by no small part because of Toriyama's design. Obviously from a gameplay point of view it's just a tremendous game even without the visual design, but the visual design gave it a familiar, warm, and nostalgic feeling.

Anyway, I've always wanted to try out Dragon Quest because of Toriyama. Unfortunately I never really gotten around to it, but since his passing and in a somewhat silly way to honour him, I figured this is as good a moment as any.

• Like 2

Same happens to me, I'm playing right now and I love it, I experimenting something similar like with FFIX, my favourite FF, is magic.

I never play any Dragon Quest but XI is gorgeous.

I tried before this Dragon Ball Kakarot, but I really don't like the combat system, maybe because I'm a noob, but the tutorial fight against piccolo is very boring and long and quit and try this instead.

• Like 1

On 3/22/2024 at 11:30 AM, Steven-Spiegel said:

Same happens to me, I'm playing right now and I love it, I experimenting something similar like with FFIX, my favourite FF, is magic.

I never play any Dragon Quest but XI is gorgeous.

I tried before this Dragon Ball Kakarot, but I really don't like the combat system, maybe because I'm a noob, but the tutorial fight against piccolo is very boring and long and quit and try this instead.

I only liked DB Kakarot for the nostalgia. The fighting was okay. Loved revisiting the Arcs which I grew up with. DQ 11 S is better in any way. 

I am also on this boat! I started DQXI (not the S version, the vanilla one) and I'm having a blast! Dragon Ball, Dr. Slump and Dragon Quest were my childhood and Akira Toriyama is by far my favourite mangaka, so let's enjoy everything he created.