Automatically Adjust Scheduled Gaming Session Time based on user's timezone

favian

If I schedule a session for 5pm, a user in England should see that it starts at 10pm his time (17:00).. Likewise, someone in California should see it starts at 2:00pm

This way everyone is on the same page, and if a person is not logged in with their account, then determine their time zone via their ip address?

I'm not a web developer but i'm just throwing ideas out there. I scheduled a gaming session for 4:30pm today, and did not realize it meant 19:30 in UK time, so the session was declared over by the time it was 4:30pm my time. This makes it incredibly difficult to organize sessions if nobody is on the same page. Otherwise it feels like a terrific addition to this site.

Please use Greenwich Mean Time

But... this already happens. This is why we have time zones in our accounts, so that game sessions are adjusted for everyone to see in their local time. 

I'm not really sure how you made a game session at 4:30 your time and had the game session be over before 4:30 your time, but if I had to hazard a guess you might have your time zone set wrong. For example, your current time may be 5:00pm but you have a 6:00pm time zone set to your profile. Maybe?

Edited by Elyther

If I schedule a session for 5pm, a user in England should see that it starts at 10pm his time (17:00).. Likewise, someone in California should see it starts at 2:00pm

This way everyone is on the same page, and if a person is not logged in with their account, then determine their time zone via their ip address?

I'm not a web developer but i'm just throwing ideas out there. I scheduled a gaming session for 4:30pm today, and did not realize it meant 19:30 in UK time, so the session was declared over by the time it was 4:30pm my time. This makes it incredibly difficult to organize sessions if nobody is on the same page. Otherwise it feels like a terrific addition to this site.

Please use Greenwich Mean Time[/size]