Preparations for this Behemoth of a task

Ypsiruonu

I’ll give the situation straight: I started playing Diablo with 3, not 1 or 2, I’m aware there’s a stigma in the fanbase due to 3 being so different, so I’ll say that upfront.

Now, what is someone that got the plat in Diablo 3 RoS has to expect for pursuing 2’s plat? I’m aware that items don’t drop as easily  as in 3, and that you more or less require to beat the expansion boss 4,500 times, more or less. Is there anything else? What’s the most cheap PvP build I can pull off easily gear wise in order to farm those pesky ears? Am I allowed in HC offline to pause the game  and quit like in 3, before  I’m killed?  How’s the difficulty and level system   working? Is it like 3, where enemies scale to your level regardless of difficulty, or do they stop getting stronger at a certain point, and you just need to go on a different difficulty?  If I were to do this with Summoner Necromancer, what are some vital items to get, and where to farm them For my HC level 99 run?

Enemies don't scale to your level.
I'm not sure if the 4500 number is accurate, but whatever the case, it's 4500 if you don't die. In non-hardcore, dying in hell sets you back 10% of the experience you need towards the next level.

Ears are easy to collect. As far as I know you could just collect ears from people fighting even if it's not you who killed them. Or, if you want to be a real bastard, you can join lower leveled players games and murder them and leave.

I'm pretty sure you can pause and quit in single-player. If you intend to do the HC in single-player, you could just back up your save.

Farm items in Mephisto Nightmare, or Andariel Hell or Mephisto Hell.