A Film Student Weighs In - Batman vs Superman [Spoilers]

Asuka Langley

Hey there. You're probably wondering what this is all about and honestly if there's a subforum for this to actually be put in whether it's now or the future then I'll drop it in there instead.

I'm a student in Sixth Form studying A Level Film - our current projects being to make our own movies self assessing them afterward and to assess a scene from a movie of our choice (something I'm going to spend my night after writing this review doing). Anyway, I've just come home from watching Batman vs Superman and to be honest, the critics seem to have overlooked it as a film and are instead judging it on the franchise.

-Spoilers start here, you've been warned-

Back to Life, Back to Reality

I'd like to start off by agreeing with something I've read in one of these said reviews which is that the movie attempts to fit too much into one sitting... To be honest I can't disagree with this as I myself felt a little overwhelmed by the amount of content that was thrown to me in the couple of hours I spent sat in the front row. While the story starts out in the dream world and we see a young Bruce who has yet to go through the torment of the Gotham TV series, we get shown for the umpteenth time the death of his parents. I understand how emotionally challenged Bruce would be upon being present when his parents were shot in front of him, however the fact that DC decide that they need to show this in one way or another with tributes to his family is beginning to become unbearable and in fact is one of the things that is used later in the movie to defuse a major conflict.

635832387897027127-1634207515_giphy.gif

Ben Affleck trying to outrun his performance in Daredevil, ends up running into the mess that the start of BvS is.