Difficulty from Dark Souls

loljens

Hey, Im new to these kinds of games so I dont know much about them.

I am very interessted in this, but I dont know how hard it will be. Were the previous ones difficult?

I had my hands on Bloodborne for a little bit, but I couldnt even get past the first boss

Could you guys give me some insight in if I should get this as a new person to this genre?

Thanks in advance :)

Despite it's action based gameplay and challenging difficulty, the Souls series benefits from approaching it like an RPG.  A slow, methodical approach and the occasional grinding for souls and gear will serve you well, which came naturally to me as an RPG aficionado. This helped me conquer the challenges in Dark Souls and it's sequel despite being average at best at games in general.  Add in an incredible atmosphere and deceptively intelligent level design and that is Dark Souls in a nutshell.

Does this sound appealing to you?  Really, the series is so unique that I truly believe that the only way to determine whether you will enjoy it or not is to give it a shot.  While Bloodborne is likely the closest thing you have played to a Souls game, it really is a different beast forcing you to play faster and more aggressively.  If the setting and gameplay look cool and you have a modicum of patience, go for it!

• Like 2

Yeah it's gonna be hard. Not as hard as the series reputation would have you believe but they're designed to be challenging which can be discouraging to new players. If you didn't have a good time with Bloodborne you're not going to have a good time here. That being said you should get it anyway.

Edited by Happy
  • Like 2

Bloodborne was genrally considered a lot easier than previous Souls games - having said that, the gameplay is slightly slower in the DS games, so depending on what exactly you found difficult it might seem easier at fiirst?

The games are uniformly the best games around, so i encorage perseverence!