SAG-AFTRA reaches deal on AI voice acting in video games

MidnightDragon

SAG-AFTRA, the union that represents TV and film actors and animation voice actors and also represents many video game voice actors, has been negotiating a new contract with a group of gaming companies for some time. They had previously gone on strike against them in 2016-2017 before a deal was reached and the deal has been extended several times. One of the things they were seeking was protections from AI use, like they were ultimately granted for their TV and movie deals. However, SAG-AFTRA shocked everyone by announcing a deal that allows AI acting in games.

https://www.pushsquare.com/news/2024/01/anger-as-sag-aftra-strikes-deal-for-ai-voice-acting-in-video-games

Now, I'm no expert, but that really sounds like the opposite of what their members were calling for. Naturally, there has been a lot of outrage and confusion about it on social media. SAG-AFTRA claims this is separate from the ongoing negotiations with the game companies, but still doesn't seem like a good look. Especially when they claimed members approved of it and quite a few have called bullshit on that.

Edited by MidnightDragon
  • Like 4

3 minutes ago, MidnightDragon said:

Something like this? 

I sometimes fail those I am not a robot verifications, I never know If I need to click on a square that has a a tiny part of a lampost in :) or whatever it's asking

• Like 1
  • Haha 3

Its a complex topic, but many old school gamers sometimes complain that games sometimes feel the same, and maybe yes, because, in design and many stuff is the same in coding and programming, as well as the engine used, so yeah, you maybe are playing a thing with similar content, and its not a bad thing if the product offers quality in the end, but now maybe we are going deeper in that aspect, with voices using the same tone, words, slang, or many stuff that people will go "this feels generic", because actually it is.