Are new trophies on PS3 still tracked?

OtherMelon

I’m kinda new to this platinum hunting stuff so I’m not particularly familiar with how PlayStation tracks achievements on the older consoles. I am considering getting a PS3 to replay some games I had as a kid and was wondering if the achievements would appear on my new PSN account. I made this newer account on my PS4 before I moved to my the PS5 and I’m unsure if I could use this newer account on the PS3. Thanks in advance to anyone that may know the answer.

• Like 2

18 minutes ago, Fiercethetear said:

PS3 is goated you are in for a ride my friend

Buy a ps3 slim or super slim btw they are more durable

I recommend a super slim much easier to upgrade the HDD, I recommend a 1TB SSD, but that's because I have alot of PS3 games. 

@OtherMelon Make sure you login to PSN on the account you created locally before you start a game and start earning trophies.

All trophies earned before linking a PSN account will have 'missing timestamp' instead of a proper timestamp. This might mess up the list and milestones on this site and other tracking sites.

This can be your newly created PSN account or any other you already have, they're all compatible.

To login on your PS3 you can't use your normal password as the PS3 can't guarantee/calculate today's standards of security.
So you need to go to a website (don't have the link at hand atm) and make a device password that you enter on PS3. This password you can re-use on the same PS3 so I'd say to just tick the box 'remember password' when you login the first time.

Beware: If you leave the webpage that shows the device password, you can't see it again so make sure you remember it. You can of course make a new device password if something goes wrong.

I think by now 2-factor authentication is also required if you want to create those device passwords or actually get them to work on your PS3.

• Like 2

17 minutes ago, DEMONICRUBLE18 said: