Save file is HUGE

Neme-ita

Nowadays save files aren't just some bits of code with your progress coded, they often contain multiple heavy files such as sounds, textures etc. I've read somewhere that some games save a few seconds of the entire game engine, you can see this when a game takes a long to load after save because it has to generate the entire level/map from scratch. I'm not a game designer tho, maybe someone smarter will explain.

• Like 1

46 minutes ago, HaserPL said:

Nowadays save files aren't just some bits of code with your progress coded, they often contain multiple heavy files such as sounds, textures etc. I've read somewhere that some games save a few seconds of the entire game engine, you can see this when a game takes a long to load after save because it has to generate the entire level/map from scratch. I'm not a game designer tho, maybe someone smarter will explain.

Former game developer (from three years ago) and current programmer here, there's no good reason why a game like RE7 or KH3 should need saves I'm the hundreds of megabytes. Most likely it's a lack of willingness to spend time optimising this because "consoles have 1TB hard drives now, who cares?", or a lack of time due to other duties taking precedence that will affect sales or player experience more. It's a sad reflection on how much thought and care gets put into peripheral features like save size, but I suppose I can say that from my ivory tower of no more deadlines now I've left the industry.

Key takeaway is that anyone that tells you save files for games like Kingdom Hearts need to be this big is either lying or misinformed. It's a shortcut, sometimes it might be justified but OP is right to be annoyed.

• Like 4

13 minutes ago, jdizzle0420 said:

The LBP3 one was also 500+ MB...