PSN Store Purchase Error Surge???

B1rvine

Recently, within the last 6 months or so, any PSN Store purchases have been giving me errors every time we have a sale. The official message in my error history is, "The credit card on record is currently unavailable."  or  "The credit card is not valid..."  (These aren't exact quotes.)  I've been using the same credit card for the last 2 years, nothing has changed, etc.  Sony's official answer was basically their network was so busy, the request timed out, which in turn puts an alarm for my bank based on blah blah blah, and I have to wait 24 hours before trying again.

Is anyone else seeing this or it is just me?

Edited by B1rvine

I've never seen that before, although I've never used a credit card on there before (I'll use PSN cards bought at GameStop, or PayPal).

Are you trying to buy something via a system store, or are you just going to the site on a PC/tablet/etc?

The "Credit card is not valid" error is actually very common and has been around for years. I don't think they'll ever fix it. I ran into it for the first time about 3 years ago and have had it so many times I've now switched to using psn cards. I would get the error with paypal as well. Sometimes it would take up to a week for my credit card to work again. I've missed out on a few sales because of it.

Honestly I don't think Sony know how to fix the issue or they just can't be bothered. They are well aware of it. There are plenty of forums out there with people having the same problem so don't worry there is nothing wrong with your card.

• Like 1

25 minutes ago, Masamune said:

Are you trying to buy something via a system store, or are you just going to the site on a PC/tablet/etc?

Trying to goto the PSN Store on my Vita.  I purchased one item, then tried to get another a few moments later, and got the error.  Also used the same card on the PS4 yesterday to renew my PS+.