Anime/manga fans: do you know Japanese?

Zenpai

34 members have voted

1. 1. Do you know Japanese?

• Yes, I do, and I'm fluent
    • I'm currently studying and I'm reasonably good
    • I'm currently studying but I'm not that good (yet)
    • No, but I'd like to learn someday
    • No, and have no interest in learning

This one goes out to all the anime/manga/J-games fans out in the forums: do you know how to speak Japanese? Are you currently studying? If not, would you like to learn, someday? Or do you just have no interest in doing so? And why?

Personally, I'm currently studying and passed the Japanese Language Proficiency Test's N3 (Intermediate Level) last year, though it should take a while before I can tackle N2 (Advanced Level), which is significantly harder.

I've been getting more and more into Japanese pop culture over the last few years and grew increasingly frustrated with the amount of good manga, anime and games that never got translated or localized - and many of the ones that do sometimes get censored, something I truly despise (though fortunately, it seems to be a dying trend). Therefore, and since I always had a knack for foreign languages (I have a Master's in Translation and studied 6 so far), I thought I'd give Japanese a try. Personally, I don't think it's all that hard, especially if you watch a lot of anime and play a lot of J-games, though, obviously, it still takes a lot of hard work and determination. I've been studying for 4 years now and, at the Intermediate level, I'm able to maintain a simple conversation fluently, though obviously, I still lack a lot of vocabulary and have trouble talking about more complex themes, like religion, economy or politics.

What about you guys?

• Like 1

I don't know Japanese, but I'm highly interested in learning. Just not 100% on how to go about it.