Why are Platinums so valuable?

theSpirae

I'm pretty new to PS4 (I've been gaming for over 25 years but PS2/Xbox was my last console). I'm just curious what makes people go crazy about Platinum trophies? A lot of times I don't see anything special about, like Platinums from Telltales games, which you get just for watching the game for 10 hours, and other pretty difficult games have no Platinum. Am I missing something here?

• Like 3

Because they are shiny, pretty to look at and make a melodious dinging sound when they pop.

Platinums are just a sign that you have obtained every other trophy that a game has (at least for games with a plat). It’s a way of showing what you have achieved with a single trophy as opposed to a whole list of trophies.

Personally I just see Trophies in general as something to aim for in a game, I enjoy it. Granted I can't seem to play many games now unless there's at least some Trophy/Achievement mechanic involved (some might say that takes away from the gaming experience and stops me enjoying other things, but personally I don't mind).

Platinums are just an extension of that thought, doesn't matter on the Rarity as, so long as you enjoy yourself going for it [the Platinum] then its a good thing, and a good accomplishment.

Sometimes the Value of the platinum starts to fade and you seem to lose the games purpose just some people has that mentality where in order to really finish the game  is to have achieve it other wise in your state of mine it always seem incomplete.

As for me I find it fun but theres always one thing that ruins people which are the onlines especially the grind such GTA IV AC: Brotherhood Last of Us and so on. The only reason people go online is cause there force to just to get that platinum

3 minutes ago, AlphaTrash said:

Bruh, you don't even have 100 URs and you have easy plats yourself. 

I agree with everything you said, I just don't think you've earned the right throw stones just yet m8.